Bangkok & Chonburi Province 2021

List of Disciplines
Related Links
Sports Federations



Bicycle racing or cycling, an internationally popular sport conducted on closed courses or the open road.

Bicycle racing includes road bicycle racing, cyclo-cross, mountain bike racing, track cycling, BMX racing and bike trials. As the bicycle evolved its various forms, different racing formats developed.

Road races may involve both team and individual competition, and are contested in various ways. They range from the one-day road race to multi-stage events.

Indoor Track racing takes place at a velodrome, usually a banked 1,093.6 ft (333 km) oval.

medals are awarded in individual and team track events, including the sprint, which features a duel between two finalists.

Another track event is the pursuit, in which racers begin at opposite sides of the circuit and attempt to catch each other.

Outdoor road races are gruelling multiday races, especially the Tour de France 4,000 km in more than twenty daily stages.

Tour de France cyclists ride for teams that share prize money and employ various strategies to aid each other, but an individual winner emerges from both time trials and races over varied terrain Another outdoor race is mountain biking, featuring varied off-road events such as cross-country, hill climb and slalom.

Cycling was first incorporated into the Asian Games in 1951.

List of disciplines

  • Cycling BMX

The track consists of many obstacles and three turns, and must be of a compact, closed looped design, forming a circuit whose length measured along its center line is not less than 300m or greater than 400m. The track must be a minimum of 10m wide at its start and may not taper to a width of less than 5m at any point along its course. Riders registered to compete in an event with a rim size of the wheel shall be 20 inches in a special BMX track.

The race shall be three rounds: preliminary, qualifying and finals. The transferring of riders to the qualifying rounds shall be according to the listed order. Each preliminary shall have three stages. There shall be sixteenth, eighth, quarter according to the number of the riders. The first four riders of each group after the semifinals shall transfer to the finals and compete from the first place to the eighth place.

Sports Federations