Singapore NOC announces sports awards shortlist

The main award winners for 2018. © SNOC
The main award winners for 2018. © SNOC

Singapore, October 12, 2020: The Singapore Sports Awards selection committees revealed the finalists of the 2020 Singapore Sports Awards nominees on Sunday, October 11.

Organised by the Singapore National Olympic Council and Sport Singapore, and supported by the Tote Board Group, the 2020 awards honour the most deserving individuals and teams in sports for the year 2019. 

The winners will be announced at the online presentation ceremony on Wednesday, October 28, at 8pm; it will be streamed live on the SNOC’s Facebook page at

The main awards selection committee was chaired by Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Speaker of Parliament and President of the SNOC, while Mrs Jessie Phua, Vice President of the SNOC, chaired the selection committee for the Sportsboy/Sportsgirl awards.

The 12 award categories are:

1. Sportsman of the Year

2. Sportswoman of the Year

3. Sportsboy of the Year

4. Sportsgirl of the Year

5. Coach of the Year

6. Team of the Year (Team Sport)

7. Team of the Year (Event)

8. Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event)

9. Best Sports Event of the Year (Local)

10. Best Sports Event of the Year (International)

11. Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year

12. Best Sports Photo of the Year

Organising committee chair Mrs Jessie Phua said: “While we are unable to gather for the awards ceremony this year it doesn’t mean we can’t still celebrate the sporting fraternity’s achievements in the last year. 

“We will be organising a ceremony on a smaller scale, one in strict compliance with the safe distancing measures set by the relevant authorities. 

“We will also be bringing this year’s Singapore Sports Awards to homes, so people can watch a live stream of the ceremony on Facebook.”

The shortlist for the two main awards are:

*Sportsman of the Year: Peter Edward Gilchrist (Cue sports), Quah Zheng Wen (Swimming) and Sheik Ferdous Bin Sheik Alau’ddin (Silat).

*Sportswoman of the Year: Cheyenne Goh (Short track speed skating), Tessa Neo (Shooting), Quah Ting Wen (Swimming) and Cherie Tan Shi Hua (Bowling).