Kuala Lumpur 1989
The 15th Southeast Asian Games were held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 20 August - 31 August 1989.

It was officially opened by 9th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Azlan Shah. Although Cambodia did not participate, Laos returned to compete for the first time under the new federation name in this edition of the games.

A unified Vietnam first participated in the SEA Games in 1989 as well.

Officially opened by Sultan Azlan Shah 9th Yang di-Pertuan Agong Ceremony venue Stadium Merdeka.
15th South East Asian Games  Kuala Lumpur 1989
Opening Ceremony 20 Aug 1989
Closing Ceremony 31 Aug 1989
Host City Kuala Lumpur
Country Malaysia
Nations Participating 9
Sports 24
Sports/Disciplines 24
Sports / Disciplines
Bowling BW
Archery AR
Badminton BD
Basketball BK
Boxing BX
Fencing FE
Football FB
Golf GO
Judo JU
Karate KR
Rowing RO
Sepaktakraw SE
Sailing SA
Shooting SH
Table Tennis TT
Taekwondo TK
Tennis TE
Volleyball VB
Weightlifting WL
Bodybuilding BO
Aquatics AQ
Athletics AT
Cycling CY
Pencak Silat PS
Choose Other Games
   South East Asian Games

Asian Marks

Thumbnail image for ~\Images-OCA\Emblem-Kuala-Lumpur-1989_56224002411.jpg
Emblem, Kuala Lumpur 1989


Asian Results

Final Medal Table

Sport Federations

Asian Federations

International Federations