Wushu, also known as modern wushu or contemporary wushu, can be classed as an exhibition and a full-contact sport.

Modern wushu is composed of two disciplines: taolu and sanda. Taolu is a combination of gymnastics and martial arts.

competitors are judged and given points on their movements which include stances, kicks, punches, balances, jumps, sweeps and throws .

Competitive forms have time limits that can range from 1 minute, 20 seconds for the some external styles to over five minutes for internal styles.

Modern wushu competitors are increasingly training in aerial techniques such as 540 and 720 degree jumps and kicks to add more difficulty and style to their forms.

Sanda is a modern fighting method and sport much like kickboxing or Muay Thai, but includes many more grappling techniques.

Wushu was first incorporated into the Asian Games in 1990.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: The 12th World Wushu Championships 2013 was officially declared open at the combined welcome dinner and opening ceremony at the Dewan Tun Lim Keng Yaik, Menara PGRM, Kuala Lumpur, on October 31. The event was at...

Macau, China: The 4th World Junior Wushu Championships began in Macau on Thursday and will play a big part in the sport’s push for inclusion in the 2020 Olympic Games. The Chinese martial art is one of eight sports on an IOC shortlist ...

More News....
Choose a Sport
  All Sports

Sports Federations

Related Links

Sports Committee

Sports for all Committee

Sports & Environment Committee