Full Story

Strong Asian representation in HK women’s rugby sevens

13 Mar 2013
Hong Kong, China: The Hong Kong Rugby Football Union and Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens organising committee have announced the draw and tournament schedule for the 16th annual Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens on Friday, March 22. The draw for the 12-team tournament was held at Olympic House in Hong Kong on Friday, March 8, coinciding with International Women’s Day. 

The teams were ranked in the following order: Australia, South Africa, Canada, Netherlands, France, Japan, China, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Ireland and the International Select. 

Following the tournament seeding, which was confirmed by the IRB, the teams were drawn into four pools of three teams each:

Pool A: Australia, Kazakhstan, International Select.

Pool B: South Africa, France, Ireland.

Pool C: Canada, Japan, Hong Kong.

Pool D: Netherlands, China, Singapore.

Tournament Director Ruth Mitchell commented: “The draw has thrown up another exciting and competitive Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens. Hong Kong will once again face off against a well-known rival in Japan in Pool C. 

“It will be interesting to see how some of the top Asian teams in women’s sevens perform in what is one of the most competitive fields we have assembled for the Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens.” The 2013 Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens will be played from 08:00 to 17:30 on Friday, March 22 at the Hong Kong Football Club.
Photos : 0
Videos : 0
print this article...

Send to a friend (E-mail this story to a friend)
Your name:  
Your email address:
Your friend e-mail address:
Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.
Choose the latest News
  All News


Subscribe to receive OCA press releases and weekly newsletter

news archive

Search all the OCA news, including press releases, information for the media, Highlights of the Week and the Olympic Review


OCA Directory