Full Story

Tokyo 2016 reveals athlete-focus for Copenhagen delegation
Tokyo 2016 reveals athlete-focus for Copenhagen delegation

17 Sep 2009
In keeping with its promise to the Olympic Movement to return the Olympic and Paralympic Games to athletes, Tokyo 2016 today revealed an inspiring team of Olympians and Paralympians who will promote Japan's Bid in Copenhagen, ahead of the International Olympic Committee Host City vote on October 2.

The 13 Japanese sporting heroes have won 31 Olympic and Paralympic medals - including 11 gold - between them at 23 different Games, and carry the hopes of millions of Tokyo 2016 supporters in Japan.

The Tokyo 2016 Heroes' squad consists of:

* Yuko Arakida, Montreal 1976 gold medallist, Volleyball
* Yukiya Arashiro, the first Japanese national to complete the Tour de France
* Fumiyuki Beppu, Beijing 2008 Olympian, Cycling
* Seiko Hashimoto, Albertville 1992 bronze medallist and seven-time Olympian, Speed Skating
* Junichi Kawai, 21-times medallist (Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008), Paralympic Swimming
* Mikako Kotani, Seoul 1988 bronze medallist, Synchronized Swimming, Tokyo 2016 Executive Board Member and Chair of the Athletes' Commission
* Yasutaro Matsuki, former Japanese international footballer
* Shinji Morisue, Los Angeles 1984 gold medallist in Gymnastics
* Koji Murofushi, Tokyo 2016 Executive Board Member, Athens 2004 gold medallist, Hammer Throw
* Daichi Suzuki, Seoul 1988 gold medallist, Swimming
* Aki Taguchi, Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 Paralympian, Shooting
* Naoko Takahashi, Sydney 2000 gold medallist, Marathon
* Yasuhiro Yamashita, Los Angeles 1984 gold medallist, Judo.

Dr. Ichiro Kono, Chair and CEO of Tokyo 2016, said: "In line with our promise to host the most athlete-focused Games in history, our delegation for the IOC Session in Copenhagen will include a large number of Japan's finest Olympians and Paralympians who each believe in the 100-year legacy the Tokyo 2016 Games will create for sport, humanity and the youth of tomorrow."

The athletes were unveiled at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building in front of the Governor of Tokyo and Tokyo 2016 President, Shintaro Ishihara, who was joined by senior leaders of Tokyo 2016, including Tokyo 2016 Chair and CEO, Dr. Ichiro Kono; President of Japanese Olympic Committee and Vice-President of Tokyo 2016, Tsunekazu Takeda; Tokyo 2016 Executive Board Member and Chair of the Athletes' Commission Mikako Kotani and Chairman of the Japan Paralympic Committee and Tokyo 2016 Executive Board Member of Tokyo 2016, Isao Hokugo.
Photos : 1
Videos : 0
print this article...

Send to a friend (E-mail this story to a friend)
Your name:  
Your email address:
Your friend e-mail address:
Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.
Choose the latest News
  All News


Subscribe to receive OCA press releases and weekly newsletter

news archive

Search all the OCA news, including press releases, information for the media, Highlights of the Week and the Olympic Review


OCA Directory