Full Story

Photo by Getty Images
Women's World Cup 2019 is highlight of FIFA bid process

07 Mar 2014
Zurich, Switzerland: FIFA has opened the bidding process for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 as well as seven more competitions - the FIFA Club World Cups from 2015 to 2018, the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2017, the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2018 and the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2018. The 209 member associations have been invited to submit their interest.

The popularity of women’s football has grown rapidly in recent years, with more women participating in the game worldwide as well as steadily-rising spectator numbers for women’s competitions.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup  has grown significantly in stature and significance over the last few editions. Now with 24 teams, it enjoys the second-biggest profile of all FIFA’s flagship events.

In principle, FIFA would prefer the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019™ (24 teams) and the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2018 (16 teams) to be hosted and organised by the same member association.
However, if circumstances require, FIFA reserves the right to award the hosting of the events separately.

Photos : 1
Videos : 0
print this article...

Send to a friend (E-mail this story to a friend)
Your name:  
Your email address:
Your friend e-mail address:
Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.
Choose the latest News
  All News


Subscribe to receive OCA press releases and weekly newsletter

news archive

Search all the OCA news, including press releases, information for the media, Highlights of the Week and the Olympic Review


OCA Directory