Ocasia logo

Sports News

Water polo field confirmed for FINA world championships Gwangju 2019

Date : 12 Feb 2019

Lausanne, Switzerland, February 12, 2019: Aquatics world governing body FINA has announced that the water polo qualification phase for the 18th FINA World Championships 2019 in Gwangju, Korea, is complete.

A total of 32 teams will take part in the water polo world championships - 16 men and 16 women. The men’s tournament includes Kazakhstan, Japan and host Korea, while the women’s event features China, Kazakhstan, host Korea and Japan.

The teams for the men’s tournament were seeded as follows:

LINE 1: Serbia, Australia, Hungary, Germany

LINE 2: Montenegro, Spain, Croatia, Brazil

LINE 3: Germany, USA, Italy, New Zealand

LINE 4: South Africa, Kazakhstan, Japan, Korea

The teams for the women’s tournament were seeded as follows:

LINE 1: USA, Russia, Spain, Australia

LINE 2: Netherlands, China, Greece, Canada

LINE 3: Cuba, Hungary, Italy, New Zealand

LINE 4: Kazakhstan, Korea, Japan, South Africa

Teams from all five continents have qualified for the water polo event, highlighting the universality and popularity of the sport all around the world within both genders.

The water polo tournaments will be held from July 14-27 on alternate days for the men’s and women’s tournament. The venue will be the Nambu University Football Field sports complex with a 5,000 capacity.

Source: www.fina.org



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.