Ocasia logo


Sports News

China win 11th Sudirman Cup title with 3-0 whitewash of Japan

Date : 27 May 2019

Nanning, China, May 27, 2019: Hosts China whitewashed Japan 3-0 to win a 11th Sudirman Cup title on Sunday.

China’s young heroes led by Shi Yuqi and Chen Yufei stepped up to be crowned champions overcoming Japan who have never won the badminton world mixed-team championships.

Shi, 23, stunned world champion Kento Momota in the men’s singles 15-21, 21-5, 21-11 to wrap up a 3-0 victory for China and allow them to reclaim the Sudirman Cup which they lost to South Korea two years ago.

Roared on by a 4,600-strong partisan crowd in the Chinese city of Nanning, the final of the 2019 TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup began with world champions Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen producing a masterclass in the men’s doubles, defeating Hiroyuki Endo and Yuta Watanabe, 21-18, 21-10.

Chen Yufei, 21, built on this victory, overcoming favourite and former world number one Akane Yamaguchi in a captivating come-from-behind victory in the women’s singles, winning 17-21, 21-16, 21-17.

Japan needed their talisman Momota to beat Shi to keep the tie alive, but the world number one, who had defeated second-ranked Shi four times in five previous meetings, including last year’s World Championships final, buckled under pressure.

“I was surprised that Shi played so well,” said Momota, who also admitted that the rousing home crowd support had affected him.

Victorious China head coach Xia Xuanze said: “It was our expectations that we would win 3-0. After the last Sudirman Cup final, we studied our weaknesses and strengths. We gained a lot of experience and that led to our success.”

Final Placings

Group 1: 1. China; 2. Japan; 3/4 Indonesia and Thailand; 5/8 Korea, Chinese-Taipei, Denmark, Malaysia; 9/12 England, Hong Kong, India, Russia.

Group 2: 13. Canada; 14. France; 15. Netherlands; 16. Germany; 17. Singapore; 18. Vietnam; 19. USA; 20. Israel.

Group 3: 21. Sri Lanka; 22. Ireland; 23. Switzerland; 24. Australia; 25. Slovakia; 26. New Zealand; 27. Lithuania; 28. Nepal.

Group 4: 29. Macau; 30. Kazakhstan; 31. Greenland.



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.