Ocasia logo

Short track speed skater Cheyenne Goh of Singapore.

Olympic Games News

Malaysia, Singapore among six new NOCs at Winter Olympics

Date : 29 Jan 2018

Seoul, Korea, January 29, 2018: Six countries will make their historic Winter Olympics debuts in PyeongChang next month, Yonhap News reports. Malaysia, Singapore, Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo and Nigeria, which have never participated in previous Winter Games, are among the 92 countries taking part in the February 9-25 PyeongChang Winter Olympics, the event's organising committee said Monday.

For this year's event, a whopping 2,925 athletes are expected to visit South Korea, an increase from the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, where 2,858 athletes from 88 countries competed. Malaysian athletes will perform in figure skating and alpine skiing, and Singapore will compete in short track speed skating. 

Ecuador will send one athlete to cross-country skiing, and Nigeria will compete in women's bobsleigh and skeleton. Eritrea and Kosovo will also send athletes to alpine skiing.

Cheyenne Goh of Singapore is one of the most anticipated athletes at PyeongChang as South Korean short track speed skating legend Chun Lee-kyung is her coach. Chun competed at three Winter Olympics, winning four gold medals and one bronze medal. From Malaysia, Jeffrey Webb and Julian Yee will participate in alpine skiing and men's figure skating, respectively.



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.