Ocasia logo

South Asian Games

South Asian Games (SAF Games or SAG & formerly known as South Asian Federation Games also known as SA games) are a bi-annual multi-sport event held among the athletes from South Asia. The governing body of these games is South Asian Sports Council (SASC), formed in 1983. At present, SAG are joined by eight members namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

The first South Asian Games were hosted by Kathmandu, Nepal in 1983 and have since been held every two years except for some occasions. In 2004, it was decided in the 32nd meeting of South Asian Sports Council to rename the games from South Asian Federation Games to South Asian Games as the officials believed the word Federation was diminishing the emphasis on event and acting as a barrier in attracting crowd. These Games are often hyped as the South Asian version of Olympic Games.



Nepal women’s football team to use Nadezhda Cup as warm-up for South Asian Games
20 Aug 2019

Lalitpur, Nepal, August 20, 2019: Nepal women’s national football team will use the four-team Nadezhda Cup in Kyrgyzstan next month as a warm-up for the 13th South Asian Games in December.

Nepal will compete alongsid.....

Pakistan judo looks to Iran for helping hand to hone fighters for South Asian Games
19 Aug 2019

Karachi, Pakistan, August 19, 2019: Pakistan is hoping Iran can give a helping hand to its national judo team as they eye medals at the 13th South Asian Games in Nepal in December.

The Pakistan Judo Federation is pla.....