Vancouver 2010
The city of Vancouver was elected host city of the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010 at the 115th IOC Session in Prague on 2 July 2003. Eight cities applied to host the Games: Andorra la Vella (Andorra), Bern (Switzerland), Harbin (China), Jaca (Spain), PyeongChang (Republic of Korea), Salzburg (Austria), Sarajevo (Bosnia-Herzegovina) and Vancouver (Canada).

The following cities were accepted as Candidate Cities to host the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010 by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board on 28 August 2002 (in the order of drawing of lots):

- Vancouver (Canada) 
- Salzburg (Austria) 
- PyeongChang (Republic of Korea) 
- Bern (Switzerland)

On 27 September 2002, the city of Bern withdrew its candidature to host the XXI Olympic Winter Games. For the 2010 Winter Games, Whistler hosted Olympic and Paralympic Alpine skiing, cross-country skiing and biathlon, as well as Olympic Nordic combined, ski jumping, bobsleigh, luge and skeleton. Olympic and Paralympic Villages and media facilities were located in Vancouver and Whistler.
XXI - Winter Olympic Games  Vancouver 2010
Opening Ceremony 12 Feb 2010
Closing Ceremony 28 Feb 2010
Host City Vancouver
Country Canada
Nations Participating 82
Athletes 2566
Events 86
Sports 7
Media 10000
Asian Medal Standings
Rank Country G S B T RT
1 CHN China
10 8 6 24 1
2 KOR Korea
5 6 2 13 2
3 JPN Japan
0 3 2 5 3
4 KAZ Kazakhstan
0 1 0 1 4

    Total: 15 18 10 43  
G - Gold      S - Silver      B - Bronze     T - Total      RT - Rank by Total
Rank by Total is calculated by total number of Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals.


Thumbnail image for ~\Images-OCA\Emblem-Vancouver-2010_2538890010459.jpg
Emblem, Vancouver 2010


Asian Winners in Olympiad

Summer Olympic Games

Winter Olympic Games

Summer Youth Olympic Games

Winter Youth Olympic Games

Sport Federations

Asian Federations

International Federations