Kuala Lumpur 1977
The 9th Southeast Asian Games were held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 19 December - 26 December 1977.

Brunei, Indonesia, and the Philippines were finally admitted into the SEAP Games Federation in February that year.

Although the word 'Peninsula' was omitted from the new federation title to reflect the expansion, its emblem (which featured six rings representing the six founding members), and the sequential numbering of the games was kept to provide continuity, as well as reverence to the objectives, aspirations and contributions of the founders.

The six-ring emblem was not replaced until 1999, when the present ten-ring emblem was first used in an official games logo. Ceremony venue Stadium Merdeka
9th South East Asian Games  Kuala Lumpur 1977
Opening Ceremony 19 Dec 1977
Closing Ceremony 26 Dec 1977
Host City Kuala Lumpur
Country Malaysia
Nations Participating 7
Sports 18
Sports/Disciplines 18
Sports / Disciplines
Bowling BW
Archery AR
Badminton BD
Basketball BK
Boxing BX
Football FB
Hockey HO
Judo JU
Rugby RU
Sepaktakraw SE
Shooting SH
Table Tennis TT
Tennis TE
Volleyball VB
Weightlifting WL
Aquatics AQ
Athletics AT
Cycling CY
Choose Other Games
   South East Asian Games

Asian Marks

Thumbnail image for ~\Images-OCA\Emblem-Kuala-Lumpur-1977_55624002409.jpg
Emblem, Kuala Lumpur 1977


Asian Results

Final Medal Table

Sport Federations

Asian Federations

International Federations