Ocasia logo

Vancouver 2010

Opening Ceremony 12 Feb 2010
Closing Ceremony 28 Feb 2010
Host City Vancouver
Country Canada
Nations Participating 82
Athletes 2566
Events 86
Sports 7
Media 10000


The city of Vancouver was elected host city of the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010 at the 115th IOC Session in Prague on 2 July 2003. Eight cities applied to host the Games: Andorra la Vella (Andorra), Bern (Switzerland), Harbin (China), Jaca (Spain), PyeongChang (Republic of Korea), Salzburg (Austria), Sarajevo (Bosnia-Herzegovina) and Vancouver (Canada).

The following cities were accepted as Candidate Cities to host the XXI Olympic Winter Games in 2010 by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board on 28 August 2002 (in the order of drawing of lots):

- Vancouver (Canada) 
- Salzburg (Austria) 
- PyeongChang (Republic of Korea) 
- Bern (Switzerland)

On 27 September 2002, the city of Bern withdrew its candidature to host the XXI Olympic Winter Games. For the 2010 Winter Games, Whistler hosted Olympic and Paralympic Alpine skiing, cross-country skiing and biathlon, as well as Olympic Nordic combined, ski jumping, bobsleigh, luge and skeleton. Olympic and Paralympic Villages and media facilities were located in Vancouver and Whistler.


Country Total Rank By Total
People's Republic of China 10 8 6 24 1
Republic of Korea 5 6 2 13 2
Japan 0 3 2 5 3
Kazakhstan 0 1 0 1 4